Skip to content

Mountaineering Training

April 22, 2012

Over the past 18 months, I have been heavily focused on smarter ways to train the physical body to climb mountains of all sizes.  The reason?  I live in the low lands and love the high lands.  This love began from dreams as a child and culminated as a young twenty something in the Beartooths of Montana.  Luckily, I now have a job that keeps me in the Rockies on a fairly regularly basis, but I ran into a small problem.  So often I would fly into cities of high elevation, then I would have to “acclimatize” just to enjoy a day there.  The original plan was to simply do more cardio and train cross fit style which worked great because I had the time.  Now that my first child has joined my daily routine, I had to find a way to continue my same activities in less time.  Luckily, I had most of the tools I needed through my educational background.  Using this knowledge, a hypothesis of preparation had to be designed first.  Utilizing Howard Loomis’s system of determining any digestive inadequacies, I was able to eliminate the large majority of any internal stresses on the chemical side.  In addition, I was able to exploit to some degree how well my body recycled red blood cells.  My theory was that this would greatly increase my ability to manage a decrease in oxygen consumption.  The other side to the process involved utilizing Muscle Activation Techniques as a way to determine any mechanical inadequacies.  This powerful tool enabled me to reduce any physical stress I may have encountered during normal climbing movements.  With a few other added  tools, the August Mount Rainier climb was a huge success.  There were a few minor hiccups prior to the climb that were quickly addressed and resolved.  Since this particular climb, my main focus has been to working through some small details that I found could become troublesome on longer and higher climbs.

These details will be further discussed in future blogs.  The final plan will hopefully be fully complete by this fall (2012).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

